Thursday 20 June 2013

Google Drive gets support for 18 new languages; Urdu, Nepali included

Google Drive has been updated with the addition of 18 new languages. Considering how widely Google Drive is used around the world, the newer set of supported languages will certainly make Drive a handier tool to use.

Google Drive now supports Afrikaans, Amharic, Basque, Chinese (Hong Kong), Estonian, French (Canada), Galician, Icelandic, Khmer, Lao, Malaysian, Nepali, Persian, Sinhalese, Spanish (Latin America), Swahili, Urdu, Zulu, in addition to the already existing languages. Users can switch back and forth as many times as they choose to, and many of these are in fact supported by Drive's spellchecker.

If you collaborate often on documents, sheets, slides and forms on Drive, you can do it in real time in any chosen language, even as your fellow collaborators pick a different language.

To switch languages, click the gear icon in the upper right, then select Settings. Under General, you can choose a language of your choice from the drop-down menu in the Language section. Hit Save. Those looking to try this on their mobile device can do it by going to their device's language settings.

Earlier this month, the Drive iOS app was updated. If you have images, lots of them stored in Drive, you can swipe through them for easy viewing on the updated app. This is a particularly interesting way of showing your collection of photos to your friends, or even for your own viewing pleasure. The update also allows iOS users to view, create, reply and resolve comments in their Google Docs files. Simply put, it will make the app more useful for those who actually use their mobile devices to share documents and work on them, while on-the-go.

No comments:

Post a Comment